Phishing With PayPal
New here? You may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!
Another phishing email arrived in my inbox today. This time it was from PayPal.
The clues:
- They didn’t use my name. If it were really PayPal, they’d use it.
- They used an email address of mine — true enough — but I don’t use it with my PayPal account.
- My email address wasn’t shown in the “To:” field. I had to click “Show original” to find out.
- The reply address they used was “…@google.com”. Seriously, PayPal has their own domain.
Here’s the message:
Dear valued PayPal member,
It has come to our attention that your PayPal account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension. Please update your records on or before July 02, 2007.
Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.
To update your PayPal records click on the following link:
(URL snipped)Thank You.
PayPal Update Team
Notice the sense of urgency? Why would PayPal rush you into things and threaten suspending your account if you don’t act? The answer is that it’s not PayPal, but the jerks that are trying to get you to act before they get caught and before you get wise.
You’re in control. Next time you get something like this, try looking for the clues I’ve mentioned before you take action.
[tags]phishing,scams,web safety[/tags]
If you enjoyed this post, please consider to leave a comment or subscribe to the feed and get future articles delivered to your feed reader.
Comments
[…] Your browser does not support frames. Please click here http://www.familywebwatch.com/blog/2007/06/30/phishing-with-paypal/. […]
There are also several instances of clumsy grammar in this message, which is always another clue that it is fraudulent.
Thanks so much for the warning!
Jeanne Dininni
http://www.WritersNotes.Net/
Hi Jeanne, yeah, with all their programming knowledge, they just can’t form proper sentences. Thanks for stopping by. ![]()


[…] Your page is on StumbleUpon […]